Manor Road Garage – East Preston, West Sussex

mpg4

mpg1Yesterday after work I went to check out another of the Art Deco sights I had been meaning to visit – Manor Road Garage in East Preston. I had first seen the Grade II listed building by complete chance a while ago when I had to visit the area for work. At the time I thought it was pretty cool but when I started discovering my love of Art Deco, I connected the dots and wanted visit it again.

The quiet back streets of East Preston are the last place you would expect to find this island of retro brilliance. The garage was originally built in 1934 and remained open until 1973 before falling into a state of disrepair. In 2007 the garage was cleared (revealing a number of vintage Rolls Royces and MG’s inside!) and plans made to restore it to its former glory. The original petrol pumps have been revamped and the building painted back to a brilliant white with palm trees outside it giving a glamorous, tropical feel. Like I said, not exactly what you expect to find in the middle of East Preston!

The building has been converted into a number of luxury apartments so I felt a bit like a stalker standing around outside taking photos but I hope nobody minded. Don’t suppose anyone has a spare £300,000 kicking about and wants to buy me one?

 

mpg2       mpg3

One comment

  1. Can’t you just see Sgt. Hastings filling up while Poirot complains about the fumes. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment